ELEANOR ELLIS, a native of Louisiana, has performed at clubs, festivals and concerts in the United States, Canada and Europe. She has also traveled and played with the late gospel street singer Flora Molton and bluesman Archie Edwards, and sometimes accompanied Delta Blues great Eugene Powell. She is a founding member of the DC Blues Society and the Archie Edwards Blues Heritage Foundation, has written about the blues for several publications, and is producer and editor of the video documentary Blues Houseparty, which features well-known Piedmont blues musicians such as John Jackson, John Cephas, and Archie Edwards. She also worked at the Archive of New Orleans Jazz at Tulane University in New Orleans, and at the New Orleans Jazz Museum.

Her recordings include Comin' a Time on the Patuxent label, Backyard Blues, a CD of solo blues guitar and vocals; Preaching in That Wilderness on the Riverlark label with Bill Ellis and Andy Cohen; appearances on several anthologies, including the 25th Anniversary Kent State Folk Festival collection, Sisterfire: Music by Women, and Archie's Barbershop Blues, released by the Archie Edwards Blues Heritage Foundation; and two recordings with Flora Molton, I Want to Be Ready to Hear God When He Calls, on Mrs. Molton's own Lively Stone label, and Flora Molton, recorded for Radio France.

BUY CD $12.00
download $9.99
Eleanor Ellis – vocal and guitar on all songs
1. Take Me Back Baby – Mississippi John Hurt/Archie Edwards/arr. Ellis
2. Diving Duck – Sleepy John Estes
   Michael Baytop, harmonica, Richard “Mr. Bones” Thomas, bones
3. Cypress Grove – Skip James
4. 61 Highway – Traditional, arranged Ellis
   Judy Luis-Watson, piano, Michael Baytop, harmonica, Thomas Cox, bass
5. Wonder Where My Easy Rider’s Gone – Mance Lipscomb
6. Big Road Blues – Tommy Johnson
   Jay Summerour, harmonica
7. In My Girlish Days – Memphis Minnie
   Judy Luis-Watson, piano, Jay Summerour, harmonica
8. The Panic is On – Hezekiah Jenkins
   Neil Harpe, guitar and vocal
9. Sun’s Gonna Shine One Day (composed by Flora Molton)
   Phil Wiggins, harmonica
10. Texas Easy Street Blues – Henry Thomas
11. Leavin’ Trunk – Sleepy John Estes
   Michael Baytop, harmonica and bones
12. Me and My Chauffeur – Memphis Minnie
   Neil Harpe, guitar
13. Kansas City – Jim Jackson
14. Goin’ Away Blues – Lottie Kimbrough
   Joel Bailes, piano, Pearl Bailes, harmonica, Thomas Cox, bass
15. Special Rider – Skip James
16. Richmond Blues – Julius Daniels, Blind Boy Fuller, Bull City Red
   Jay Summerour, harmonica
17. Mississippi Blues – Willie Brown
   Neil Harpe, guitar
18. What’s the Matter With the Mill – Memphis Minnie & Kansas Joe
   Neil Harpe, guitar and vocal